embracing the spirit

Spirit of Philanthropy, a recent initiative of Jess Parrish Medical Foundation (JPMF), began its annual awards program to celebrate the power and passion of women leaders who actively contribute their time, talent and treasure to make our community a better place to live, work and raise families.
Five North Brevard women were awarded with Spirit of Philanthropy awards at its fi rst ceremony in April during Parrish Medical Center’s Spirit of Women Red Shoe Reception. Patricia Manning, Ed.D., was awarded the signature Lifetime Achievement award. She has made her life’s work as a teacher and an active community member. She is involved with PMC and JPMF endeavors, and her accomplishments and recognitions include contributing to the development of three Alzheimer’s centers in Brevard County.
Other nominees for the Spirit of Philanthropy Lifetime Achievement award:
Nancy Eberlin served as the president of the board of directors of the SPCA. She used her skills as a former owner to relocate and transform the new highly successful SPCA Thrift Store.
George Anne Goggins has taught religious education classes for more than 30 years and makes quilts for the needy. She is active in raising her grandchildren and great grandchildren, and cared for her mother-in-law.
Lynda Tempest, a retired teacher, is involved in many ways in her church. She demonstrates energy and dedication to any project she organizes and is an inspiration for spiritual women. Barbara Terhune taught children with learning disabilities for 25 years. She’s an active community volunteer and has a passion for everything she does, including long-standing JPMF involvement.
Rachel Terry began at Parrish Medical Center in 1964 and has been an active participant ever since. She supports many organizations, including JPMF, Pilot Club, Brevard Alzheimer’s Foundation and United Way.

? more honors

Awards were presented in four other categories: Community Hero award, Janet Rooks, M.A.; Rising Star award, Mausam Chokshi; Healthcare Hero award, Marialice Knight, R.N.; and Business Hero award, Aja Assad.